C-DET logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

C-DET Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • The Certified Dryer Exhaust Technician exam is administered by the Chimney Safety Institute of America (CSIA), in person or virtually.
  • The exam costs US$210 in person or US$225 virtual; no member/non-member split has been verified.
  • Online review access lasts 28 days, and the exam may be scheduled within one year afterward.
  • The exam has 50 multiple-choice questions in 30 minutes, based on the Certified Dryer Exhaust Technician's Manual.

Why There Is No Fixed 2026 Exam Calendar

Candidates searching for "C-DET exam dates 2026" often expect a neat calendar of testing windows like those published for some large standardized credentials. For the Certified Dryer Exhaust Technician credential, issued by the Chimney Safety Institute of America (CSIA), the public information points in a different direction: scheduling is tied to the specific event or review product you register for, not to a single national testing season.

CSIA lists dryer technician review-and-exam events on its education pages, and it also offers an online review that leads into a self-scheduled exam. That means your "exam date" is usually one of two things: the date of an in-person or virtual event you sign up for, or a date you choose yourself within a window that begins when you finish the online review.

Naming note: CSIA's current official branding for this credential is CDET, while "C-DET" remains the identifier used on this site and a historical alias. If you see either spelling on CSIA pages, they refer to the same Certified Dryer Exhaust Technician program. For background on the terminology, see What Is C-DET? and What Does C-DET Stand For?.

Because specific session dates change as CSIA adds and retires events, this article focuses on what is stable: the formats, fees, access windows, and technical rules that determine when and how you can sit for the exam. Always confirm live dates directly on the CSIA event pages before you commit.

Delivery Formats: In Person vs. Virtual

CSIA administers and grades the exam either in person or virtually. The choice affects your price, your preparation environment, and how flexible your date can be.

FactorIn-Person ExamVirtual Exam
Exam feeUS$210US$225
Optional one-day review$345 (primary registrant)$330 (primary registrant)
Equipment neededNone beyond what the event specifiesDesktop/laptop/MacBook, webcam, one monitor
Scheduling feelTied to an event date and locationTied to an event or to your own window after online review

The US$15 difference in exam fee is small, but travel costs for in-person events can dwarf it. Candidates who live far from a scheduled session often find the virtual option cheaper overall, provided their home or office setup meets the technical rules described below. For a fuller pricing picture, read the C-DET certification cost breakdown.

Registration Mechanics and Fees

Registration is handled through CSIA's pages, and your total depends on whether you pair the exam with a review product. The published options include:

  • Exam only: US$210 in person or US$225 virtual. Self-study followed directly by the exam is explicitly allowed.
  • One-day review plus exam: the review is $345 in person or $330 virtual for the primary registrant, with the exam fee on top.
  • Online review: $315, or included with a qualifying three-month SureFire subscription.
  • Three-day workshop: $765 for the primary registrant or $715 for each additional person, plus the $210 exam.

The current price of the Certified Dryer Exhaust Technician's Manual could not be verified, so check the CSIA store before budgeting. Likewise, no member versus non-member pricing split has been verified, so do not assume a discount exists.

Who is the "primary registrant"? CSIA's review pricing distinguishes a primary registrant from additional attendees (the workshop lists $765 versus $715). If your employer is sending a crew, registering them together may lower the per-person cost on the workshop. Confirm the exact group rules with CSIA at checkout.

The 28-Day and One-Year Windows Explained

The most date-sensitive rule in the public materials involves the online review. Access to the online review lasts 28 days, and the exam may be scheduled within one year after the review. These are two separate clocks, and mixing them up is the easiest scheduling mistake a candidate can make.

  1. Clock one (28 days): how long you can use the online review material after purchase or activation.
  2. Clock two (one year): how long you have to schedule the exam after the review.

Key Takeaway

Neither window is the validity period of the credential itself. The 28 days and the one year govern study access and exam scheduling only. How long your credential stays valid, and what maintenance it needs, is a separate topic covered under renewal below.

Practically, the 28-day window rewards candidates who start the online review only when they have time to complete it. Buying access months before you are ready wastes days you cannot recover. The one-year scheduling allowance, by contrast, gives you slack: finishing the review does not force you to test immediately.

Technical Requirements for Virtual Testing

If you choose the virtual route, your equipment can decide your date as much as the calendar does. CSIA's published requirements state:

  • A desktop, laptop, or MacBook is required.
  • A webcam is required.
  • One monitor only; dual monitors are not allowed.
  • iPad, tablet, and Chromebook devices are not supported.
  • Microsoft Edge is not supported; Chrome is recommended.

Test your machine and browser well before exam day, not the morning of. A work laptop with locked-down security software, or a shared family computer, can create problems that are easy to fix in advance and impossible to fix at the start time. If your only reliable device is a tablet, the in-person format is the safer choice.

Rules on calculators, adaptive testing, accommodations, breaks, and retakes could not be verified from public pages. If any of those matter to you, contact CSIA before booking rather than assuming.

What You Are Scheduling: Exam Format

The exam consists of 50 multiple-choice questions to be completed in 30 minutes, based on the Certified Dryer Exhaust Technician's Manual. That works out to roughly 36 seconds per question, which makes pacing a real consideration. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.

An inactive issuer-branded event listing once described the exam as closed book with an 80% passing standard. Current CSIA pages do not reconfirm those rules, so treat them as historical context rather than verified current policy. For the latest thinking on scoring, see C-DET passing score and C-DET pass rate; note that the pass rate is not publicly disclosed.

The time pressure is one reason candidates ask how hard the C-DET exam is. A short, fast exam rewards people who know the manual cold and have practiced under timed conditions, which you can do with the C-DET practice tests on this site.

Preparation Subject Areas to Place on Your Calendar

CSIA's review description groups preparation into three broad subject areas. These are unweighted preparation topics from the issuer's course description, not an official weighted exam blueprint, and the current manual edition and blueprint version are unverified. They map onto the three domains used for study organization here.

Domain 1: Essential dryer exhaust concepts

The foundation: how dryer exhaust systems work and why they matter for fire safety and appliance performance.

  • Core terminology and system components
  • How exhaust moves from the appliance to the outdoors
  • Why restrictions and lint buildup create hazards

Domain 2: Dryer exhaust inspection techniques

The hands-on knowledge a technician applies in the field when evaluating an installed system.

  • What to check and in what order during an inspection
  • Recognizing signs of blockage, damage, or improper installation
  • Documenting findings clearly for the customer

Domain 3: Dryer exhaust safety practices

Safe work and safe outcomes: protecting occupants, property, and yourself.

  • Hazard awareness around combustible lint and heat sources
  • Safe procedures when servicing exhaust systems
  • Professional conduct, tied to the CSIA code of ethics holders must follow

No official domain count or percentage weights have been verified, so do not assume one domain dominates the exam. Your safest plan gives all three real attention, using the manual as the primary reference. The C-DET exam domains guide goes deeper on each area, and the C-DET cheat sheet condenses must-know facts for last-minute review.

Working Backward From Your Exam Date

Once you have a date, whether an event date or a self-chosen slot within your one-year window, build a short plan backward from it. The one place a schedule template helps is in sequencing the three subject areas, so here is a compact example tied to the C-DET content rather than generic study theory.

Week 1

Essential dryer exhaust concepts

  • Read the manual sections on fundamentals first; everything else builds on them
  • Build a vocabulary list of terms and components
Week 2

Dryer exhaust inspection techniques

  • Walk through the inspection sequence until you can recite it
  • Practice identifying problems from scenario-style questions
Week 3

Dryer exhaust safety practices plus timed practice

  • Review safety procedures and the CSIA ethics expectations
  • Take timed sets of 50 questions in 30 minutes to rehearse pacing

If you use the online review, compress this plan so the heavy lifting happens inside the 28-day access window. If you self-study and test directly, which CSIA explicitly allows, you can stretch it across as many weeks as you need. The C-DET study guide offers a fuller roadmap, and C-DET training options are worth comparing against your budget.

Renewal Timing Starting April 1, 2026

Scheduling does not end when you pass. CSIA's current renewal routes, effective April 1, 2026, are:

  • CDET review plus a $100 administrative renewal fee.
  • Retaking the examination, without that additional administrative fee.

That second route does not mean renewal is free, since the exam itself carries its own fee. The current validity cycle, any annual maintenance fee, and any numeric CEU renewal requirement for CDET were not verified. Course CEUs should not be treated as renewal obligations unless CSIA states so for this credential. Credential holders must also sign and follow the CSIA ethics code.

Because the renewal cycle length is unverified, check your own credential record with CSIA and mark the renewal date on your calendar the day you pass. If you are weighing whether the ongoing cost is justified, the C-DET ROI analysis and the C-DET salary guide cover the earnings side, while C-DET jobs describes who tends to value the credential.

What Is Not Publicly Confirmed

Honesty about gaps protects you from planning around rumors. As of the reviewed public sources, the following could not be verified:

  • A fixed national calendar of 2026 testing dates
  • The current commercial proctoring vendor for virtual exams
  • Retake, break, accommodation, and calculator policies
  • The current manual edition or year and the exam blueprint version
  • The credential validity cycle and any annual maintenance fee
  • The scored versus unscored question allocation

SureFire supplies online review, but that does not make it the exam administrator. CSIA administers and grades the exam. When a detail matters to your decision, get it from CSIA directly. Eligibility questions are covered in C-DET requirements: no public minimum degree, experience, references, or mandatory training hours have been verified.

Before you book: Confirm three things on the CSIA pages the same week you register: the exact event or window date, whether your chosen format (in person or virtual) matches your equipment and location, and the current fee. Prices and offerings can change, and this article reflects public sources reviewed in 2026.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there a single set of C-DET exam dates for 2026?

No fixed national calendar has been verified. Dates depend on the CSIA event you register for, or on a window you schedule yourself after completing the online review. Check CSIA's event pages for current sessions.

How long do I have to take the exam after the online review?

Online review access lasts 28 days, and the exam may be scheduled within one year afterward. These windows govern study access and scheduling, not how long the credential remains valid.

Can I take the exam without a review course?

Yes. CSIA explicitly allows self-study followed directly by the exam, and the review course is optional. No public minimum degree, experience, or mandatory training hours have been verified.

What do I need for the virtual exam?

A desktop, laptop, or MacBook with a webcam and a single monitor. iPads, tablets, Chromebooks, dual monitors, and Edge are not supported; Chrome is recommended.

How much does the exam cost, and how long is it?

The exam is US$210 in person or US$225 virtual. It has 50 multiple-choice questions in 30 minutes, based on the Certified Dryer Exhaust Technician's Manual. Review options are priced separately. To rehearse the format, try the practice tests and see the full exam dates overview.

Ready to pass your C-DET exam?

Put this into practice with free C-DET questions across every exam domain.